Home » Uncategorized » Music

Music

I’m not a naturally musical person. I’ve never been that good at piano even though I persevered with it for four years. I’ve never been that into music, not like some of my friends. It’s just always been a bit ‘meh’ to me. But I think that’s because I’d never actually realised what stuff I liked. I’d not done enough research to realise that pop isn’t the only type of music out there. But in the last kind of five or six months I’ve suddenly discovered all this music I now absolutely love. So I’m going to do a list of my all time favourite bands/albums/songs because really I am a music person, it just has to be the right kind of music.

 

Vampire Weekend

Members: Ezra Koenig, Rostam Batmanglij, Chris Thompson, Chris Baio.

Albums: Vampire Weekend (2008), Contra (2010), Modern Vampires of the City (2013).

They sing about a place called Cape Cod a lot. Vampire Weekend are like my first band. They’re the first band I really loved. I remember back in 2010 being so so excited for their second album. What I really love about Vampire Weekend is that I knew about them before anyone else and I watched them go from being this little group who did some songs and were fresh out of college to one of the biggest indie rock bands on the scene.

Favourite Song: I can’t decide. A-punk, Campus, Unbelievers, Step

 

The Airborne Toxic Event

Members: Mikel Jollett, Anna Bulbrook, Noah Harmon, Daren Taylor, Steven Chen

Albums: The Airborne Toxic Event (2008), All at Once (2011), Such Hot Blood (2013)

I’ve not found anyone else who has ever heard of this band. But they are so good in a screaming yelling kind of way. You can relate to the songs so easily and they just have a really unique sound. My uncle gave me their first album for my birthday two years ago and to start with I was so so unsure. But then it just hit me how amazing they were and now I’m a big fan

Favourite Songs: Hmm… Gasoline, What’s in a name, This is London

 

Arctic Monkeys

Members: Alex Turner, Matt Helders, Jamie Cook, Nick O’Malley, Andy Nicholson

Albums: Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not (2006), Favourite Worst Nightmare (2007), Humbug (2009), Suck It and See (2011), AM (2013)

This is a recent revelation for me. I heard something of theirs on the radio then a friend lent me all the CDs. What can I say? Alex Turner is such a babe. His lyrics are just so clever. I feel like every song has some clever little joke or mocking remark making fun of this culture where everyone tries so hard to be cool. Also the actual melodies are so cool as well.

Favourite Songs: Mardy Bum, Fluorescent Adolescent, A Certain Romance, Arabella

 

The Wombats

Members: Matthew Murphy, Tord Øverland-Knudsen, Dan Haggis

Albums: This Modern Glitch (2011) A Guide to Love, Loss & Desperation (2007) Girls, Boys & Marsupials (2006)

I love The Wombats. It’s that kind of music you can just scream at the top of your voice and dance wildly to. I find it’s good motivation to do some revision.

Favourite Songs: Techno Fan, Tokyo (Vampires and Wolves), Walking Disasters

 

Haim

Members: Danielle Haim, Este Haim, Alana Haim (Dummer: Dash Hutton)

Albums: Days are Gone (2013)

Haim make me want to do more things with my sisters. Imagine being in a band with your sisters. It would just be like on big long sister holiday. I also love their music. It’s just fun and lively and perfect for listening to in the shower and when you’re getting ready in the morning.

Favourite Songs: The Wire, Don’t Save Me

 

The Vaccines

Members: Jay Jay Pistolet, Freddie Cowan, Pete Robertson, Árni Árnason

Albums: What Did You Expect From The Vaccines? (2011), Come of Age (2012)

Again The Vaccines are fun and most of the songs are so happy. I’ve only got the first album but I’ve heard some of the songs on the second and I love them as well. They mention specific names a lot which is surprising because usually people just sing ‘girl’ or ‘darling’ instead of Eleanor or A.M.A.N.D.A Norgarrd!

Favourite Songs: Norgarrd, If you Wanna, Wolf Pack

 

Chvches

Members: Lauren Mayberry, Iain Cook, Martin Doherty

Albums: The Bones of What you Believe (2013)

Chvches is pronounced Churches and is sometimes written with three horizontal lines instead of an E as well as a V instead of a U. They’re Scottish as well which being Scottish I love! J I don’t really know how to describe their music but it’s quite electronica-y. There’s a lot of electrical sounds rather than instruments but the lyrics are so clever.

Favourite Songs: The Mother We Share, We Sink, Lies

 

Of Monsters and Men

Members: Nanna Bryndís Hilmarsdóttir, Ragnar þórhallsson, Brynjar Leifsson, Kristján Páll Kristjánsson, Arnar Rósenkranz Hilmarsson, Árni Guðjónsson

Albums: My Head Is an Animal (2012), Live from Vatnagarðar (2013)

Of Monsters and Men are from Iceland but speak English, in their songs anyway. The songs seem to be full of metaphors and I don’t have much idea what some of them are about but the music is lovely. The only two I have any idea what they’re talking about Little Talks and Dirty Paws. Little Talks is about a girl who has depression and is perhaps suicidal and they boy is trying desperately to stop her doing anything stupid. That’s what I got from it anyway but I really don’t know. And I think Dirty Paws may be about war and how it really is pointless and there’s so many better ways we could be spending time and better things governments could be spending their money on. I could be wrong, and probably am, but that is just what the songs say to me personally.

4 thoughts on “Music

Leave a Reply

